Report from Florida

August has been all about discovering Florida. Very quickly after arriving, we found that we became naturally attuned to planetary rhythms. In the mornings I would open my eyes, and glancing out of my bedroom window, I would watch the sun rise above the little row of villas beyond the lake. The sun would then stream through our apartment, drenching everything with a glorious light.

I taught two workshops in Florida. In Naples at Postures for Suzie Muchnick, I taught sitting poses in the morning and in the afternoon we tackled the balancings.  This was a strong group. Most of the students were in the process of going up for their Introductory II certification.

In historic Punta Gorda at The Yoga Sanctuary for Bonnie Yonker, I taught three classes; menopause and post menopause, drawing yoga, and the principles of alignment. All three of these classes were well attended even though high summer in Florida is the ‘low season’ and many of the residents are elsewhere at this time of year.  This was also a strong, welcoming group of receptive and committed yoga students.

I wish I could tell you I have finally learned how to swim, but until I can swim a length in water that I cannot stand up in, I am not there yet. It’s been a saga, this swimming thing, but having easy access to a pool, and having unlimited sunshine helped a great deal, and I feel that I am on my way.

The other big thing that happened this month – I cut my hair! The long (20 year) ponytail is a thing of the past. It’s now a short, bouncy bob. I was very self -conscious about it for a while but now I can’t imagine it any other way.

iHanuman.com is reporting much interest in the sound recordings, now available for download on their website, from a weekend workshop I taught earlier in the year.  You can download three of the five classes that I taught that weekend: Menopause, Inversions and Backbends. I also made drawing of the entire list of poses, with additional drawings showing how to get into – and in some cases out of – the poses. These are available as a PDF with each download.

The really big event of the month is the publication of my first children’s picture book, Watch Me Do Yoga, which has been a couple of years, on-and-off, in the making. The inspiration for this book came as I taught a student in my Greenwich Village studio. My student had brought her six year old daughter with her, and had settled her down with some drawing paper and pencils. But the little girl was not happy about having to wait while her mother did yoga and her restlessness and boredom was disturbing the class. She just wanted to go home. Finally, I drew the little girl into the class and taught her along with her mother. She was transformed by the attention as she happily practiced along with us. When the session was over, her mother had quite a job getting her to leave!

Finally, I had wanted to report that I had seen my very first alligator, but we didn’t have time to go find one before we had to return to New York. Maybe when we come back in December (when I teach again at The Yoga Sanctuary, and at Postures), we will get to make that drive through the everglades across Florida from the west coast to the east coast. I will keep you posted!

© 2010 Bobby Clennell.

Tags: , ,

5 Responses to “Report from Florida”

  1. Roberta DellAnno Says:

    Hi Bobby,
    This photo made me smile broadly 🙂
    Love the blog. Thanks for sharing it.
    Om shanti,
    Roberta

  2. Sharon Says:

    When I first met you, you had short hair….let’s have a look…New picture, please!

  3. Debra Says:

    Great. Good for you cutting your hair it is not easy. I look forward to seeing your new do. I bet you look great!!

Leave a Reply

